Athletics » Pat Haden Award

Pat Haden Award

The Pat Haden Award is presented to the student-athlete who best typifies the athletic and academic ability that Pat Haden and other Amat Graduates have made part of the Amat tradition.

Athletes who may qualify for the award must maintain a 3.5 GPA or higher, be a starter in two or more sports, named First Team All League in one sport and be the current recipient of a Scholar Athlete award from one of their sports. The recipient of the award is then chosen by the athletic director and principal.

Pat Haden graduated from Bishop Amat in 1971. In his last three years at Amat he and his teammate, John McCay, made high school football history. Pat set CIF records for completed passes in one season - 224, a high school career mark of 527 completions, most touchdowns passes in one season - 42, and most passing yardage in one game - 470. He and John were named CIF Football Players of the Year in 1970. In addition, Pat played first string on a championship basketball team. In his four years at Amat his cumulative GPA was 3.74. Pat went on to play quarterback for USC and was the 1975 Rose Bowl Player of the Game. He was also awarded a Rhodes Scholarship.
Pat Haden Award Recipients

1975   Mike Gerardo
1976   Joe Ebiner
1977   Mike Brotherton
1978   Rainer Wulf
1979   Matt Ebiner
1980   Fred Wee
1982   Jim Fisher
1983   Mike Regaldo
1984   Dirk Adams
1985   John Jackson
1986   Roman Diaz
1987   Richard Garrich
1988   Aron Gideon
1990   Marty Avalos
1991   Ealar Gallagher
1993   Robert Lund
1994   Kristina Chavez
1996   Abel Montanez
1997   Jeremy Juarez
1998   Colleen Moak
1999   Eric Ota
2000   Xochiquetzal Martinez
2001   David Kolb
2002   Timothy Murphy
2003   Catherine Lima
2004   Amelia Alvarez
2005   Michael Lugo
2006   Adriana Blakely
2007   James Sainz
2008   Jordan Fox
2009   Brent Seals
2010   Jasmine Roth
2011   Nicholas Casarez
2013   Joseph Cook
2014   Amanda Alvarado
2015   Emily Hubert
2016  Jessica Gallardo
2017 Nicholas Di Fiori
2018 John Anakin Mares
2019 Olivia Paez
2020 Morgan Rust
2021 Ashley Hiti